RELEASE ! V0.33 is out

Yes, it’s correct. I throw it out… I had a very good last weekend in two directions : Great weather in cologne and the first tests with NextGEN Gallery as WordPress Gallery management works perfect.

No doubt, there are a lot of bugs inside. Some of them I ignore for the moment, some of them are not visible. So it’s time to give it a try and let you test it now. I start with version 0.33 (the Abraham release), it’s far behind version 1.00, but on a good way ๐Ÿ™‚ Here you find the download link.

For all the people out there who are disappointed :

Yes, the jQuery integration is poor,
Yes, no button in TinyMCE to add the tag automatic
Yes, only another simple image management
Yes, no widget support
Yes, no exif support
and yes a lot of problems….

If you don’t like it, please try the best function in NextGEN Gallery :
Uninstall (I programmed it especially for you).

For all other : Please be so kind and report every issue, feature, recomendation you have…

Short Note : I integrated a forum for all question around this plugin. Please request your wishes and problems there. So the requests are better to handle. Thanks for your understanding !

Tagged

26 thoughts on “RELEASE ! V0.33 is out

  1. Mark says:

    Hi Alex,

    I think you’re being too hard on yourself – all of your other plugins have been exceptionally good. I’m going to try NextGEN today and I will be sure to post any problems for you to check out.

    Thanks for your great work ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lazy says:

    Iยดm the same opinion like Mark. I`ve installed NextGEN yesterday just to test it and in my eyes it just works fine, even it`s not v1.0 but hey, great work! I`m looking forward to the next version(s) of NextGEN. Maybe you could integrate Permalinks somehow? No Widget Support? Who cares.. i don`t like them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for your work! I like NextGEN.

  3. Dale-Anthony says:

    Hey, this looks like a great plugin, just what I was looking for however I cannot seem to get it working with my wordpress ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    The plugin activated ok but I am having a few problems:

    I cannot upload a ZIP file
    Nothing happens when I click the ‘edit’ button on the manage gallery page
    I do not understand what the ‘album’ setting do?
    images do not seem to showing up anywhere (quite a big problem really)

  4. RS says:

    Hi –

    I can’t get it to work at all — the link to admin is a dead link…

    Thanks anyway.

  5. Dale-Anthony says:

    I seem to have it working now, I think a old gallery plugin I was using was clashing with NextGen.

    Thanks so much for this, its brilliant.

  6. Dompi says:

    Great work alex!

  7. YY says:

    After a lot of research, this is the gallery that I’m going to stick with. However, as with the same problem with fGallery, this gallery does not work with WordPress installations that are not in the root BUT the index is in the root. It always want to add the subdirectory’s name whenever linking to a gallery, breaking the link. Anyone know of a workaround?

  8. alex.rabe says:

    YY, I think the failure is that I look for get_option(‘siteurl’) and not for your desired subfolder … maybe, could be…

  9. micha says:

    Cool plugin … would like to support this with a translation … but
    where’s the po file for the translation ?

  10. alex.rabe says:

    You would like to do the german translation ?
    That would help me a lot …

    Please contact me via email, I send you the po edit file

  11. Dompi says:

    alex, i want to do the spanish translation.

    Send me your english po edit file to jwaisres arroba hotmail punto com

  12. Rod says:

    In my opinion, it’s not the best way. It seems some people find your plugin cool, me not. As I can see the beginning, you create something similar with Coppermine, and it’s a bad idea. The taken way is not the good : xml, or very dynamic structure like FlickR are good choices for web 2.0 experiences.

  13. Mark D says:

    I have everything working, except I cannot get the gallery to show up on my site. I do not think it is the program’s fault, but my lack of understanding of how to properly insert the tag into the visual page of post or the code page of a post. Could someone be a little more specific about how the tag should look inside either the visual section or the code section of the post/page? Sorry, I am not someone who writes code.

    Thank you!

  14. alex.rabe says:

    I uploaded a new version which inludes now the language file.

    @Rod
    Yes, I know what you want… But i don’t need to rebuild FlickR, I will try to integrated it.

  15. Rod says:

    Alex : not only FlickR. But your ambition was “next gen gallery” and in fact, it’s a old school html gallery ๐Ÿ™‚ Why create several page when Javascript can load on the fly thousands thumbs ? Why choose Lightbox when better and faster image viewers exist ? And at least … what’s about the day when you have 1000 albums, 30 000 photos ? It was the SOURCE of the problem of Coppermine. The creator never thought a website using these kind of system with thousands users. Think like Wordtube. Easy, flexible. And about flickR, don’t worry. I was against FlickR during several years : now I don’t understand why loose time and bandwidth when a such system exists ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck.

  16. Lazy says:

    hi,

    can you change get_settings to get_option in nggfunctions.php? I know, get_settings is still working because of deprecated.php, but i think the most bloggers use (or will use) WordPress 2.1? And the Links to the Galery Pages should use Permalinks if enabled in WordPress Config. 0.34 is working fine, thanks for the update Alex. Have a nice Day! =)

  17. alex.rabe says:

    Thanks Lazy,
    for the information. I will update the code

  18. Jason says:

    I think the deal closing features I need before I give this a whirl is tag support (should be feasible with the new wordpress tags), rss feeds to albums, and dead simple uploading that does not take years to sort through (everything should be pulled from the exif tags if possible, and not resized).

    Any of those implemented or in the works?

  19. Jason says:

    Okay, well according to your ToDo, there’s interest in rss feeds, simple uploads, and tags (not sure what “old gallery plugin”) you meant though.

    Also, I would really like to simply place the files on my fileserver and have it import those without trying to do too much to them (in the event that I prepare them ahead of time with a separate utility).

    Kudos, as I’d love to give this a whirl as nothing else has worked as it should.

  20. alex.rabe says:

    Jason,

    thanks for the feedback. I’m not think about tags, but I will add this features, if it makes sense. Can you give me a better explantion for what do you require tags in galleries ?

    I mean tags can be added to post or pages, this is clear, but why makes it sense for a gallery or picture to do this separately ?

  21. Rod says:

    @ Alex : tags can create galleries dispite they are in a gallery.

    Example …

    I have 2 cameras : a Canon and a Nikon. I shoot photos with 2 of them … I want to show my work with Canon … with the tag CANON, I can sort all pics from any gallerys to create in fact a gallery “Canon”, but virtually.

  22. alex.rabe says:

    Hey NextGEN-Rod is back ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the explanation, now I get a better understanding for tags and a possible integration, good idea for the future

  23. Rod says:

    I think you need to take SimpleTagging http://www.herewithme.fr … to have a total understanding of powerful of tags : and whynot use the structure of this plugin to put it inside NG gallery : imagine … I write an article about … metallica.

    when I call my page with http://www.mydomain.com/tag/metallica/ …it sorts first the articles about Metallica, but creates to … a gallery with “metallica” tag, or create several “mini galleries” which contains pics with metallica tags.

    in this way, you have a similar “vision” of FlickR : you can browse pics by users, by sets (albums) or … by pics (and in this way : pics by users, or pics by all the DB)

  24. alex.rabe says:

    Wow ! You have a very good future thinking, your idea is very very good.

    It’s definitely on my ToDo list !

  25. Jason says:

    Well I’m glad I said something about this because it’s about time someone else took interest in implementing this.

    It would also be very useful if the tags it read in were pulled in from the EXIF headers as well. XMP support (superset of XTPC) would be great.

    Automatic tag support and a simple import process (on a slow server) would basically seal the deal for me. I’ve been trying to push support for this in other projects, but seems no one really likes to tag their photos.

  26. Lazy says:

    simple tagging.. i love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

