Tags finished

I finished today the main development for the tag system. You can see the result here :

http://nextgen.boelinger.com/2007/08/11/albumtags/

http://nextgen.boelinger.com/2007/08/07/tags/

http://nextgen.boelinger.com/2007/07/27/new-tag-system-in-v070/ 

I need to cleanup the code, remove some options and then I can have a look for the other points of my ToDo list. I think I will work on the user roles system, cause this is many times requested. Actually I didn’t know if I should support the role manager plugin or do it my own way without any plugin dependency…

Your opinion are welcome.

Tagged

20 thoughts on “Tags finished

  1. alakhnor says:

    No plugin dependancy!
    That’s all I have to say 😉
    (I only have rights to have dependancy vs wordTube :D).

    Well, no, I’ve other things to say in fact: Your tag system looks neat 🙂
    Is the bottom list of pictures heavy in queries?
    Have you prepared something if the picture list is huge?

    Like you said earlier, keep it simple. I don’t think there is a need for a sophisticated user role management on this. WP has already some which are quite usable. And a further version might add some.

    The option I’ve taken for this is to give rights only to editors and create a specific space for each of them. You might get lost in many details if you want to build a complex role management, and more if you stick to a plugin. 😉

  2. die-andis says:

    Guten Morgen,

    ich hätte keine Probleme mit einer Abhängigkeit zum Rolemanager. Warum das Rad nochmal neu erfinden und nicht bestehende Möglichkeiten nutzen?

    Aber letzendlich bin ich froh wenn überhaupt eine Rollenverwaltung da ist. Egal wie implementiert.

    Gruß
    Andreas

  3. Frank says:

    Hi Alex, hab jetzt etwas ausgiebiger Dein wunderbares Plugin getestet… denke, es ist nicht mehr lang, bis ich alle gallery aus dem älteren galleryplugin importiere. Dass bei Dir in Zukunft Tags gehn, find ich toll… wenn bei einer site- oder tagsuche die Bilder gefunden werden, ist das echt ein Feature, was es bisher bei einem galleryplugin mit der Lupe zu suchen galt…

    Grandiose Arbeit…!! ALLE ACHTUNG.

    was ich feststellte…
    die thumbnails werden nicht in der vorgegebenen Grösse bzw. Art angezeigt…
    ich nutze 0.64
    (den Titel-(H-3-Text würde ich UNTER dem Bild bevorzugen…
    ist logischer/wirksamer, erst Bild dann Text)
    Grüße, Frank

  4. valerie says:

    When I login to the forum, the whole forum disappears, so I’m going to post here a question about nextgen.

    I used the new oneclick install plugin to install and I don’t get a new button in the wysiwig. Also, the rel=thickbox is put on my images and I have thickbox selected in the effects, but images aren’t being displayed using thickbox. I looked and the directory is there where it’s supposed to be. Could these two things be related to the oneclick or something else? I’ve been searching for hours looking for answers, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks

  5. Bobsch says:

    i would really love it if v0.70 had built-in support for wordpress mu 😉

  6. alex.rabe says:

    @Valerie
    Yeah, the forum problem is reported already from some Mac users. Do you use also a Mac ? Which browser ?

    To your problem :
    Please refresh the cache (for the wysiwyg) and send me a link to your page. I never used the oneclick installer, I problem could be possible…

    @Bobsch
    I’m sorry this is not on my plan for 0.70. It must be moved to a later version, I have no time for this at the moment (I need to look into WPMU first to review the difference)

  7. alex.rabe says:

    @alakhnor

    The related tags require two queries : 1. Look for related tags based on the tags which are used in the post and 2. pull out all images which contains the tags. I hope this will not slow down if you use 10000 images.

  8. Bobsch says:

    duh… too bad… =(

  9. Manish says:

    Wow congrats for accomplishing one more step buddy.
    As Bobsch said above, even I would love to see WPMU integration / compatibility in 0.70 ver.
    And my second pref would be role manager to allow users to create their very own album.

  10. jorgent says:

    Hi Alex!

    Great to see that you are making progress with the plugin. The related images option sounds great! As you know I will be using this plugin for my photo blog and I might use the related images option to direct the viewers from my index picture to related images. I want to make it simple and not have a lot of WP categories so tags are just what I’m looking for.

    And here’s a future request 😉

    What about an option to extract exif from the pictures? I think a lot of photo bloggers would find that interesting. Just a thought..

    Cheers!

  11. Rod says:

    do all your features on Wordtube 🙂 it would be great to have a gallery of video by tags. (no needs Playlists)

  12. valerie says:

    I’m using xp with ff 2.0.0.6. The button did show up on clearing the cache–thanks.

    Still no luck with thickbox. I was using a theme that had smoothgallery in it so I deactivated that in and nextgen both and tried to get lightbox running by itself with no other plugs enabled and couldn’t. So I don’t think it’s a js conflict but I don’t really know anything.

    If you can take a look at the site soonish, I’ll set the theme as the default and leave all plugs deactivated except nextgen til I hear back from you. I’d really appreciate if you can look at it, as I can’t really use nextgen without thickbox or lightbox. The address is robcomm.net/photo. I’m happy to donate if I can end up using nextgen.

    Thanks!

  13. alex.rabe says:

    Lightbox is not installed or used in the default theme. Thickbox is working from here on your side, except the first picture sue which added rel=”lightbox” instead class=”thickbox”.

    You must decide which effect do you want to use. If you need lightbox see question 3 in the FAQ :

    http://alexrabe.de/wordpress-plugins/nextgen-gallery/faq/

  14. alex.rabe says:

    @ALL

    Forums should now work again, I found the problem. Please post upcoming problems there…

    Thanks !

  15. Janzomaster says:

    Hi, first of all, I love your plugin!
    I’m really looking forward to the roles system. I think you shouldn’t make it depended on any other plugins, there is always a chance (as I had the misfortune to experience) that a plugin is disontinued. That would then render nextgen useless as well, until you build up a own role management system. Better to do it right from the start.
    Just my two cents 🙂

  16. alakhnor says:

    I had trouble with thickbox (actually, with jquery). At certain point, if a page is heavily loaded with jquery wrappings, it works only partially with IE (I guess that’s because of the slowness of IE js engine which breaks the $).
    I’ve postponed to make it available until I find a solution.

  17. alex.rabe says:

    Mhh,

    I don’t see problems with thickbox, maybe you ran into a conflict with other scripts… thickbox doesn’t support the “nonConflict” mode, so I need to add this manually to “my” thickbox version…

    Anyway… Too much jQuery will causes too much problems. I can also do a lot of coding with jQuery instead of hard coding DIV’s but the result could be be your problems. I use jQuery where it make sense.

  18. alakhnor says:

    It works fine with FF though, so I’m not sure about any conflict…or I guess it wouldn’t work in FF either.

  19. alex.rabe says:

    Ok, I don’t now your exact problem , it’s only a small hint…

  20. alakhnor says:

    I don’t know either…;)

Comments are closed.

