Final adjustments for the next release

I thought already three times V0.80 is finished, but during my testing I found major bugs and need again rework at the new functions and code. Horrible ! I’m now at the very last part which I would like to change : Widgets. The existing solution isn’t my favorite one and so I decided to refactor it for the next release.


old Widgets style
 new Widgets style

It’s a little bit more flexible (you can exclude galleries, and create up to 10 widgets) and a good base for future enhancements.

Let me point out again : Version 0.80 will be the last version for WordPress 2.1 – 2.3. The next major release works only with WordPress 2.5, because there are huge upcoming changes in the Admin UI and this require many rewrites for this plugin. I hope the WordPress Dev team keep enough time for the plugin authors to fit their code to the new admin UI, otherwise…. 

P.S. : The changelog for the upcoming version is already online and the current google trunk contain the last alpha version. ( Test it on your own risk…, no support at this stage )

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “Final adjustments for the next release

  1. Stefan Wijdeven says:

    The next major release works only with WordPress 2.5, I think you mean 2.4?

  2. Nokao says:

    I’m sad I arrived late to help you with the improvement of the widgets.

    However If you want to write me I still have some tips about some problems that came out in the attempt to create a “random and recent” page-creator plugin.

    I still want to help someway, but my actual three works are blocking me even to sleep.
    Maybe in march.

  3. JiinX says:

    Your gallery plugin is really the bomb! It looks really nice and is very easy to use. Thanks man!

  4. luc says:

    I really appreciate all the effort you put into this. I’m still in the process of implementing (have some major problems showing a separate gallery page from the album page, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out eventually), but it looks like this is the nicest photo thingy I’ve seen so far. Thanks for all your hard work.

  5. Ronald says:

    One of the nicest gallery scripts for wordpress I came acros.

    Keep up the good work!

  6. Siavash says:

    NextGEN Gallery is very good but not 4 me !!!
    My Pictures has upload in different host and i cant link them cuz the host is free.
    I beg u that add a part to adding external pictures in gallery.

    Thank u very much!

  7. DivaGeek says:

    I can’t seem to figure out how to edit where it’s looking to find my galleries. It’s attempting to find them by default in the /home/.zwingli/divageek/divageekdesigns.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/
    Which does not exsist.
    I host my own WordPress and there is no .zwingli or home for that matter..any ideas on how I fix this.

    Thank you!

  8. Herrin says:

    Hi there Alex. Fantastic plugin! really. I was just thinking if it would be possible to hack the flash upload progress bar on your plugin to work with the standard wp upload form as well. would be pretty handy for bigger files.

    Cheers and thanks again for making such a complete image gallery plugin. 🙂

Comments are closed.

