Pimp your plugin for WordPress 2.5

NextGEN for Wp2.5This will take longer as assumed. It cost my two hours to find a more or less acceptable solution for NextGEN Gallery overview menu, in the style of WordPress 2.5

Honestly, I’m must say I’m not a big fan of this new UI, the reorder of the menu is good, the colors are ugly…

Update : Redesign for NextGEN Gallery nearly finish, awaiting final WP Core updates for IE, otherwise don’t use IE with WordPress, looks incredible bad… (or wait for IE8 ???)

Add images Manage Gallery Write Post

Tagged , ,

15 thoughts on “Pimp your plugin for WordPress 2.5

  1. Sam says:

    Completamente de acuerdo, los colores y tamaños no me gustan para nada. saludos y gracias por NextGEN.
    ———-
    I agree! Colos and sizes are horrible. Tks for NextGEN!

  2. Gio says:

    You don’t like colors? change your own! (it is possible?)

  3. marco says:

    Your solution looks pretty good – keep it up alex …

  4. alakhnor says:

    I’m not a big fan of the new interface too. Especially when it comes to keep plugin compatibility with previous WP versions and this version in the same time. There’s more cosmetic changes in there, and not always in the user-friendly direction imho.

  5. alex.rabe says:

    Hundreds of plugins will look awful with the new UI and I’m not sure if all the authors will take the time to redesign their plugins …

  6. Ole Petter says:

    I love your nextgen gallery! 🙂 Pretty good, but how to get “random pictures” in the sitebar?

  7. CZBios says:

    The random pictures you can get into your sidebar by nextgen widget.

  8. Mattias says:

    You’ll get it rokkin’ as always i’m sure 🙂

  9. Beth says:

    Alex,

    Was looking through the WP 2.5 changes and I noticed they are redoing their uploader and implementing a gallery feature. How does it compare to what you offer?

    Thanks!

    -Beth

  10. alex.rabe says:

    Beth,

    for some users will the new WP Core feature more than enough, but I ilke my plugin and will keep it also in Wp2.5 for my purpose. Depends on your requirement NextGEN is useless for your blog…

  11. alakhnor says:

    The new upload/gallery feature is actually a relooking of the current existing upload/attachment system. It looks nicer, is a little bit more flexible and gives more information on links between media and posts but runs basically in the same way. The gallery feature is actually a gathering of attachments inserted in a post.
    It means that it’s okay for occasional picture insertion and limited functionality-seeking, but it won’t go if you want to manage lots of pictures. That’s what a gallery system is for.

  12. murph2481 says:

    I tried a trunk version of WP 2.5 to make sure my plugins all work. I noticed that with the NextGen plugin the tage [gallery=x] doesn’t work, the slideshows work just fine by when I try to show a gallery nothing comes up. Maybe there was something funky with the dev environment I setup? Anyone else notice this?

  13. John Hardy says:

    I have installed in on my blog and I am wondering where I enter the code to put it on a page ?? I’m using NextGen 0.83

    It states to add this code to my page gallery=1 ??

    Thanks

    John

  14. kozmetik says:

    I’m not a big fan of the new interface too. Especially when it comes to keep plugin compatibility with previous WP versions and this version in the same time. There’s more cosmetic changes in there, and not always in the user-friendly direction imho.

Comments are closed.

