wordTube with plugin support

After a very long break I start to work on wordTube again. I recognize that the plugin features for the JW Media Player are now much easier to implement and so I added this feature to wordTube.

So what is the benefit for you ?

For example : You can add now a great rating tool to your videos, see here for a demo. Have a look at LongTail for all available plugins. Additional you can override all global flash settings via the custom fields. Detailed explanation here. wordTube version 2.20 is now available at WordPress.org

Tagged , ,

33 thoughts on “wordTube with plugin support

  1. Nenad says:

    May good Lord bless your work.

  2. eddie says:

    hey alex, tks for your great work, but i havce a problem when i actived this plug in my wordpress, the page stats bar will display a notice, error”j .parrentnode’ is null or not an object, i don’t know why, do you?

  3. tom says:

    doesn’t work for me either on 2.7.1

    wath problem?

    thx

  4. alex.rabe says:

    @eddie
    please post a screenshot at the wp forums

  5. tom says:

    @lex.rabe
    my screenshot it:

  6. Sainsuper says:

    Great work!!!
    now wordtube is complete! plugin support was the only thing missing!
    Thanks very much Alex
    (i have tested ad it work good)

  7. Tomakun says:

    Thanks for getting back on this plugin man. Great work.

    What about Youtube HQ embedding? I think that’s one of the most important improvement I was waiting for. But I know it’s due to Longtail and not your plugin… So anyway, thanks again.

  8. neurone says:

    Same probleme than tom since i update the pluggin:
    Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

  9. neurone says:

    ok, just have to change the right on my plugin folder and file 🙂

  10. Hi alex, im using your plugin very long time and im very thankful for ur effort.
    i have now one problem i updated my plugin to latest and my wordpress also the latest version 2.7.1
    with no autostart clicking dosent effect on videos like here
    http://www.gazeten.com/cristiano-ronaldodan-muthis-bir-frikik/
    thank for taking time

  11. Torben says:

    Hello

    I am wondering if it would be possible to pay in order to be able to use “Word Tube” for commercial purposes?

  12. Thank you for your wonderful work on this plug-in.

    I’m working on modifying your plug-in to support closed captioning (CC) and audio captioning (CA). I thought I’d inquire to see if you were already working on this to avoid duplication of effort.

    I’ve recently migrated our site from a custom asp.net to WordPress and am converting a boatload of videos. My interns are doing the closed captioning files.

    I thought that modifying the WordTube media library upload screen to provide a spot for specifying a formatted CC file and CA mp3 file would be the best approach and thought I’d pick your brain about that.

    Many thanks.

  13. alex.rabe says:

    @Sean

    I’m currently not working on audio captioning, but happy to recive your changes. Maybe they are usefull for other users…

  14. @Alex, Cool. When I get this ironed out, I’ll send you the changes. Many thanks for an awesome plug in.

  15. i found the solution the problem was with database i clear the tables and create again.
    thx again

  16. Chen says:

    Hi Alex,

    I find the wordTube playlist display a weird look compare to the plugin page example of yours, mine has ugly white + grey stripes, I set the playlist to 8 from 180 in the option page, but it seems not functioning well? My music collection website has the wordTube installed, and the list is there, can you check it out and tell me what happen?

    Thanks

  17. dave says:

    the wordTube plugin is NOT valid.
    it fails on 2 errors.

    the “name” tag and some closing “div” tag.

    Is there any way to fix this error?

  18. Andy says:

    YAY!!! I love WordTube and am glad to see you working on it again. Thanks for all your hard work Alex. It really is great.

    -A

  19. tmr says:

    I’ll ask a queastion.. How can we use with Yahoo Video? or is it possible?

    Thanks for your great work.

  20. Samon says:

    http://code.google.com/p/wordtube/issues/detail?id=60
    I meet the same problem,can you fix it?

  21. Marc says:

    Hi Alex,

    I’m currently working on the 1.0 release of the “wordTube Flowplayer” Plugin.

    The first test results with the FlowPlayer where good and it’s an alternative to the JWFlvPlayer.

    Just want to let you know… maybe you are interested in having a look:
    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wordtube-flowplayer/

    Example here:
    http://mopeten.tv/41

    (That is a german motorcycle video magzine fully uses your fantastic wordTube Plugin)

  22. Dave says:

    Hello all;

    Sorry to be repetitive, but I had a question I am trying to resolve asap.

    If one filters WordTube playlists, one can see on a column to the farthest to the right labeled “order”.

    I was wondering, is there a way to change those ‘0’s, and thus change the order of appearance of the videos?

    It seems someone asked this question 6 months ago, and I 2 months ago, but no one has chimed in. I was curious if anyone had feedback on this.

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/219723?replies=4

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.
    Respects,
    Dave

  23. Dave says:

    Sorry, I tried to attach the following pic to my comment.

    Sorry to be repetitive, but I had a question I am trying to resolve asap.

    If one filters WordTube playlists, one can see on a column to the farthest to the right labeled “order”.

    I was wondering, is there a way to change those ‘0’s, and thus change the order of appearance of the videos?

    It seems someone asked this question 6 months ago, and I 2 months ago, but no one has chimed in. I was curious if anyone had feedback on this.

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/219723?replies=4

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.
    Respects,
    Dave

  24. Bruce says:

    I’m about to give up on this plugin and use the raw code from Longtailvideo. When I put the code [media id=”0″]on my page, I get a message saying “Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.” I’m waisting too many hours trying to figure this thing out. It’s fustrating.

    Currently using WP 2.7. There’s something missing or not fully explained in the Wordtube Readme manual.

  25. Richard says:

    After two years of using the plugin all of my new posts are unable to indlue Wordtube.

    I get the same error: Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

    Help.

  26. Tim Nolte says:

    Is the functionality of manually setting the sort order of media within a playlist ever going to be returned to WordTube? This is a huge deal for our site. I’ve been going into the database and setting these by hand. Now that we have someone to manage all of our online media content I’m stuck as I don’t want be opening up the database backend to just any user. In my book this should be a high priority item since it was in the code originally then removed for whatever reason. If I can help in any way I’d be more then happy to do something but I don’t want to waste my time customizing the code only to have to hassle with manually putting my changes back in whenever the plugin updates. I already have this problem with another plugin and I’m already a few versions behind because of it.

  27. Harty says:

    I try to include more than 10 video files in word tube. But only 10 are displayed. Is there a limitation or how can I expand over 10? Thank you!

  28. Melissa says:

    hi

    i love this plugin – use it on several sites! a couple of questions though:

    1. the settings for the playlist work fine but the sizing settings for the single player in a post default back to the original 320 x 240 size. i set the size in the preferences for wordtube, but they keep defaulting back to the small size. any thoughts?

    2. i’d love to add an option with the single player for download links – i work for a news agency and our clips are for preview (in FLV), but the clients need to download either the HD, SD or WMV version of the clip, as well as a link to a word doc or pdf script. any ideas how to approach this?

    again, love this plugin. great work – some enhancements:

    – being able to define more options on the skin/colors
    – various playlist formats (some plugins do this already i hear)
    – ability to suck in Facebook and other sites content (based on FLV location)

    peace,
    Melissa

  29. Alex, thanks for great plugin wordtube. I recently donated.

    How do I change wordtube default size to smaller than 320 x 240 to fit in wp widget area without enlarging the area.. Should I change wordtube/admin/functions.php width and height code to 0? What would you suggest. Thanks.

    Rudy

  30. Jan Pozivil says:

    Hi Alex, love your plugin and have donated as I think it’s the least I can do to encourage you to carry on developing wordtube.

    Nevertheless I find it really frustrating to get any kind of support for my problem. I have already written on the plugin Forums, but don’t get any help from there.

    Therefore I’m gonna write it here too. Please help me:

    I have uploaded a video file and thumbnail file. Video plays, but the thumbnail is not displayed.

    WP 2.9.2
    wordtube 2.2.2
    JWFlvPlayer 5 – licensed version

  31. Hi Alex–

    I seem to be having a problem–even though I make a playlist and add videos to it, (this is off a URL) the playlist isn’t showing any videos in the preview. Can you help?

  32. Michael says:

    Wordtube is a great plugin and should be considered the ‘status quo’ video software for WordPress.

    Is there a way, outside of hacking the code, to autostart and loop the sidebar widget, while keeping the page players ‘manual start’ only.

  33. xerim.com says:

    I’m Using wordtube on my website but i dont know how to enable the latest feature of JW player with facebook/twitter share.. I managed to activate the Viral plugin but how can i add the share option on the flashvar?? anyone help pls..

Comments are closed.

